ELIZABETHTOWN BOROUGH COUNCIL REORGANIZATION MEETING

January 4, 2016 Minutes

The Reorganization/Work Session Meeting of Elizabethtown Borough Council was held on Monday, January 6, 2016 at the Borough Office. Mummert administered the oath of office to Phil Clark, Jeff McCloud, and Tom Shaud before calling the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m. Present were Councilmembers Phil Clark, J. Marc Hershey, J. Neil Ketchum, Jeff McCloud, Tom Shaud and Dr. C. Dale Treese. Also present were Borough Manager Roni Ryan, Assistant Borough Manager Cindy Foster, Planning & Zoning Director Rodney Horton, Police Chief Jack Mentzer and Mayor Chuck Mummert.

Nominations and Election of Council President & Vice President

Once Mummert opened the floor for nominations, Clark nominated Hershey to serve as Council President, and Shaud nominated Ketchum to serve as Council Vice President for calendar years 2016-2017. After Treese called for nominations to be closed, Hershey and Ketchum were unanimously elected as President and Vice President, respectively.

Mummert then relinquished control of the meeting to Hershey.

Vacancy Board Appointment

Motion by Treese, second by Ketchum, to reappoint Ken Reighard to the post of Vacancy Board Chair for calendar year 2016. Motion carried unanimously.

Staff & Consultant Appointments

Motion by McCloud, second by Shaud, to approve the following staff and consultant appointments for calendar years 2016-2017:

- 1. Roni Ryan—Borough Manager, Secretary, Treasurer
- 2. Cindy Foster—Assistant Borough Manager, Assistant Secretary, and Assistant Treasurer
- 3. Jack Mentzer—Chief of Police
- 4. Rodney Horton—Zoning Officer, Building Code Official, and Codes Compliance Official
- Greg Gobrecht—Assistant Zoning Officer, Building Code Official, and Codes Compliance Official
- 6. Dennis Landvater—Codes Compliance Official
- 7. Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC—Solicitor
- 8. Trout, Ebersole & Groff—Auditors
- 9. BB&T Bank—Main Depository of Funds
- 10. Hanover Engineering—Civil Engineers
- 11. Herbert, Rowland & Grubic, Inc.—Sanitary Sewer Engineers
- 12. Light-Heigel Associates—Sewage Enforcement Officers
- 13. Commonwealth Code Inspection Service, Inc.—UCC Third-Party Administrators Motion carried unanimously.

Council President Appointments

- 1. Hershey made the following appointments:
 - a. PSAB Voting Delegate—Jeff McCloud
 - b. PSAB Alternate Voting Delegate—Phil Clark (PSAB Annual Conference—June 5-8 in Hershey)
 - c. Fire Company Advisory Committee—Tom Shaud
 - d. Code Appeals Board—Neil Ketchum

Appointments to Borough Boards & Commissions

Motion by Ketchum, second by McCloud, to table appointment of a representative to the Elizabethtown Area Industrial Development Authority. Motion carried unanimously.

After a motion by McCloud, second by Clark, the following appointments to Borough Boards or Commissions were unanimously approved for the terms designated:

- 1. Planning Commission
 - a. Everald McDonald (four-year term)
- 2. Zoning Hearing Board
 - a. Vaughn Nissley (three-year term)
- 3. Civil Service Commission
 - a. Michael Hench (six-year term)
- 4. Elizabethtown Area Community Services Authority
 - a. Meade Bierly (five-year term)
- 5. Elizabethtown Area Water Authority
 - a. John Buch (five-year term)
- 6. Greater Elizabethtown Area Recreation & Community Services Board (GEARS)
 - a. Meade Bierly (three-year term)

Meeting Schedule

Motion by Clark, second by McCloud, to affirm the following dates and times for Council meetings for the 2016-2017 calendar years:

- 1. Work Sessions—First Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m.
- 2. Regular Meetings—Third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m.

Motion carried unanimously.

Public Comment

Rich Sheidy, 350 Lemon Street, questioned whether the staff and consultant appointments involved any changes from last year. Ryan explained that the sanitary sewer engineers and Borough Solicitor were changed in the third quarter of 2015, but tonight's action did not involve any changes since that time.

Administrative Reports

- 1. EAWA—no report.
- 2. Mentzer reported on the following:
 - a. Monthly Police Department Report
 - b. Following a resident complaint concerning noise at the Poplar Street Park hockey rink, it was discovered that there is a discrepancy between restrictions in the Park Ordinance and the Noise Ordinance. At the January 21st meeting, Council will be asked to consider authorizing advertisement of an ordinance amending Chapter 10, section 203, of the Noise Ordinance to allow an exception for reasonable park activities that fit the scope and purpose of the Borough's park system.
 - c. The Civil Service Commission held its Reorganization Meeting earlier today; minutes will be forthcoming.

Executive Session

Council entered Executive Session at 7:25 p.m. to consider personnel matters and returned to regular session at 7:33 p.m.

Action Items

- 1. Motion by McCloud, second by Treese, to approve a Settlement Agreement with the Elizabethtown Police Department to extend the terms of the expiring Collective Bargaining Agreement until December 31, 2017. Motion carried unanimously.
- 2. Motion by Ketchum, second by Clark, to approve terms of employment for the Chief of Police for 2016 and 2017 effective January 1, 2016.

Other Business—None

<u>Adjourn</u>

Following a motion by Treese, second by McCloud, the meeting unanimously adjourned at 7:35 p.m. upon which time Council entered Executive Session to discuss the following:

- 1. Legal Matter
- 2. 2016 Vincent W. O'Connor Award
- 3. Personnel/Liability Matter