ELIZABETHTOWN BOROUGH COUNCIL REORGANIZATION MEETING January 2, 2018 Minutes

The Reorganization/Work Session Meeting of Elizabethtown Borough Council was held on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 at the Borough Office. Mummert administered the oath of office to J. Marc Hershey, J. Neil Ketchum, and Bill Troutman before calling the meeting to order at 7:45 p.m. Present were Councilmembers Phil Clark, Jeff McCloud, Tom Shaud, Bill Troutman, J. Neil Ketchum, Jr., and J. Marc Hershey. Also present were Borough Manager Roni Ryan, Assistant Borough Manager Ann Roda, Public Works Director Wayne DeVan, Planning and Zoning Director Pamela Craddock and Mayor Chuck Mummert.

Nominations and Election of Council President & Vice President

Mummert opened the floor for nominations, Clark nominated Hershey to serve as Council President for calendar years 2018-2019. Hershey was unanimously elected as President. Mummert then relinquished control of the meeting to Hershey. At which time, Shaud nominated Ketchum to serve as Council Vice President for calendar years 2018-2019. Clark second the nomination and Ketchum was unanimously elected as Council Vice President.

Staff & Consultant Appointments

It was motioned by Ketchum, second by McCloud, to approve the following staff and consultant appointments for calendar years 2018-2019:

- a. Roni Ryan Borough Manager, Secretary, Treasurer, Open Records Officer
- b. Ann Roda Assistant Secretary, Assistant Treasurer, Assistant Open Records Officer
- c. Pam Craddock Zoning Officer, Building Code Official, and Codes Compliance Official
- d. Greg Gobrecht Assistant Zoning Officer, Building Code Official, Codes Compliance Official
- e. Eckert, Seamans, Cherin & Mellott, Solicitor
- f. Morgan, Hallgren, Crosswell & Kane Solicitor
- g. Trout, Ebersole & Groff Auditors
- h. PLGIT Main Depository of Funds
- i. County of Lancaster Treasurer Tax Collector
- j. Hanover Engineering Civil Engineers
- k. Herbert, Rowland & Grubic, Inc. Sanitary Sewer Engineers
- 1. Herbert, Rowland & Grubic, Inc. Sewage Enforcement Officer

m. Commonwealth Code Inspection Service, Inc. – UCC Third-Party Administrators

Motion carried unanimously.

Chief of Police Loyalty Oath

Mummert administered the loyalty oath to Edward M. Cunningham, Jr. Following the loyalty oath Chief of Police Cunningham made a few remarks concerning his appointment and the work that is to come with the Borough and the Police Department.

Appointments to Boards and Committees for Calendar Years 2018-19

Hershey sought volunteers for the noted Board and Committees. For 2018-19 the following appointments were made:

a. PSAB Voting Delegate—Phil Clark

(PSAB Annual Conference—June 10-13 in Hershey)

b. Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors-Neil Ketchum

Appointments for the PSAB Alternate Voting Delegate and Vacancy Board Chair were tabled to a future meeting.

Appointments to Borough Boards and Committees

- 1. It was motioned by Ketchum, seconded by McCloud to approve the appointment of David Grey to the Planning Commission for a four year term. Motion carried unanimously.
- 2. It was motioned by Shaud, seconded by Ketchum to approve the appointment of Dieter Ott and Roger Powl to the Zoning Hearing Board for a three year term, respectively. Motion carried unanimously.
- 3. It was motioned by Ketchum to appoint Dr. Dale C. Treese to the Elizabethtown Industrial Development Authority. McCloud second the nomination and Treese was unanimously approved to a five year term. Counsel requested that advertisement of the second vacate position be posted to the Borough's website to obtain a volunteer.
- 4. It was motioned by Ketchum, seconded by Clark to approve the appointment of Jeff McCloud to the Elizabethtown Area Water Authority for a five year term. Motion carried unanimously. Shaud abstained from the vote.
- 5. It was motioned by Clark, seconded by Ketchum to approve the appointment of Howard Krosen to the Greater Elizabethtown Area Recreation & Community Services (GEARS) for a three year term. Motion carried unanimously.

Meeting Schedule for Calendar Years 2018-19

It was motioned by McCloud, second by Clark, to affirm the following dates and times for Council meetings for the 2018-2019 calendar years:

- 1. Work Sessions—First Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m.
- 2. Regular Meetings—Third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m.

Motion carried unanimously.

<u>Adjourn</u>

Following a motion by Shaud, second by McCloud, the meeting unanimously adjourned at 8:05 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Roni Ryan Borough Manager